My Signature Dip

 

Spring decided to withdraw from the game and leave it to winter and summer to battle it out. Green is disappearing quickly to be replaced by golden straws and hues of brown.

I feel a little sad whenever I look at the hill sides and see them turning to golden-yellow. Green is such a refreshing color..the mere sight of it makes me smile. It feels like everything is taking a deep breath and starting over, fresh, pure and energetic. 

The weather this year has been – and still is-  really weird. It didn’t rain much during winter only to make it up in the spring..we are having a thunder-storm almost every weekend only to be followed by days with temperatures around 30 C.

In an attempt to inject more color and refreshment into my days I make dishes like the one you see in the picture above. Your choice of vegetables boiled or steamed with my signature dip. Now I know there are a lot of ingredients in it..but the end result is a melody of flavors that are worth the trouble.

You can substitute the yogurt with mayonnaise. I use yogurt to make  this a bit lighter and I like the slight tang the yogurt adds.

You can serve with some puff pastry sticks and it will be hard to stop.

My signature dip

2 tablespoons yogurt

3 tablespoons mayonnaise

1 tablespoon sour cream (or strained yogurt also known as labaneh)

1/4 teaspoon dried mint

1/4 teaspoon dill

1/4 teaspoon powdered garlic

1/4 teaspoon dried onions

1/4 teaspoon paprika

salt to taste

1/4 teaspoon sumac

Dash of pepper

Mix the ingredients till combined. Serve, dip, enjoy.